King of Darkness

There have been rumors circulating for about a month now about Undertaker potentially passing his torch of darkness to Bray Wyatt, yes, THE Bray Wyatt. With these rumors and the recent actions of the Wyatt Family against the brothers of destruction, a torch passing is not far fetched. Undertaker fought a hard match against Brock Lesnar at Hell in a Cell and was still able to stand, but the Wyatt Family came out and beat him down, barely standing. They carried him out and before a week was even up, Kane followed behind his brother. The Wyatt Family stole the brothers and Bray took their souls,wyatt-summons-lightning cue terribly fake lighting strikes that only the TV audience can see. I feel like Survivor Series would be a good time for Taker to pass this torch, but with another match looming at WrestleMania 32, can Taker really pass the torch? Can one pass the torch of darkness and continue to wrestle as the king of darkness?With Survivor Series honoring “25 Years of Undertaker,” it wouldn’t be a bad idea for a traditional Survivor Series match of a 5-on-5, but the brothers of destruction are TWO and the Wyatt Family is FOUR. There isn’t really anyone I can think to join the Wyatt Family, well except Adam Rose, who was rumored to be joining them months ago. I guess that’s my the biggest question out there because what group of three men will join Taker and Kane?

Unfortunately, there is nobody worse to carry on Undertaker’s king of darkness gimmick than Bray Wyatt. He has terrible storyline history. He taunts a superstar, had a match at the next pay-per-view, but win or lose, it just stops, and repeat. It’s like taunt, match, win/loss, repeat. Okay, that was terrible. He doesn’t even have a good record against big names, with John Cena, Daniel Bryan, Roman Reigns, and of course, Undertaker defeating him. His storylines end up being meaningless and not worth anybody’s time. The other unfortunate thing is that with Undertaker coming towards the end of his career, it’s without a doubt that he needs to pass on some sort of torch. He’s too big of a guy whose made too big of an impact to not have a torch worth passing. His legacy has to travel through him lifting someone up, and Bray is looking to be that guy.

Bray Wyatt is a decent guy, and I know it’s not his fault that his storylines have a terrible ending with no fall out for either man. That’s all WWE creative, and everyone knows how I feel about those guys. I can’t be the only one who gets chills when Bray Wyatt drops a promo. I’d even go as far as to compare him to the likes of The Miz, John Cena, and even CM Punk. He’s not a Paul Heyman, but hey, who is better than that promo giving walrus? Even WWE has ranked him 34th in their “50 Best Talkers in Wrestling History.” He’s got all the potential a WWE superstar could have, he just needs to get that push into the spotlight, and Undertaker could give that to him.

Rumor has it that Undertaker will have his final WrestleMania match against John Cena, a man he looks highly of and a man who he wants to basically end his career. John Cena needs no elevation, so there won’t be anything left after that match for either man really. That’s the unfortunate thing about it. WrestleMania 32 is completely perfect for Taker’s last match. I mean, it is in Dallas, Texas. However, if this torch passing is an actual idea WWE creative had, then, it’s not really ideal for Taker to have his last match at WrestleMania against John Cena.

This storyline really interests me and I would love to hear your thoughts and ideas about it as well. Comment down below, tweet me, @graveyardpxnk, or you can submit them here and I will respond there as well. I hope you enjoyed this storyline style blog post! I’d appreciate it if you were to like it or share it as well so others can read it, too! I appreciate the support I’ve been getting over my past few entries and would love to broaden my readers as much as possible. Later in the month, hopefully some time next week, I’ll post another storyline style blog post about the vacated WWE championship and the routes WWE creative can and should go with it. Until then, follow me on Twitter for any updates on my blog, and be sure to check out Hardly Serious on Mondays after RAW and after every pay-per-view or my edition of WWEIWC, Wacky Wrestling Endings I Would Change.

“The fear of death is far greater than the death itself, but the fear of the unknown is the greatest fear of all.” – The Undertaker

Leave a comment